The Friday Four | #1

The Friday Four

I’m always reading and generally discovering things online (and sometimes offline!). I’ve set up various apps and tools so that lots of things come to me, using Feedly, Pulse (LinkedIn), Facebook, Twitter and that Google thing I can’t remember the name of which pushes stories at me on my Android tablet.

I tend to organise the interesting articles or videos I find in Pocket, which is really helpful. I also use Diigo as a bookmarking tool, to store links to sites, rather than articles. As a result, I thought that on Fridays I would share four things I have come across during the week. This may not end up being every Friday, but I’ll see how I get on!

  1. Theories for the digital age: Paragogy, Steve Wheeler – Something that is talked about quite a lot these days is peer teaching and learning. Online platforms and courses such as MOOCs, particularly xMOOCs look for peer interaction to be a significant part of the learning process. Apparently ‘Paragogy’ is a term coined by Corneli and Danoff (2011) in order to describe this concept of peer learning (learners self organising and teaching themselves), an idea related to connectivist and heutagogic theories. Further reading on this here.

  2. What makes an outstanding ELT coursebook? The publisher’s perspective. – Lizzie Pinard reported on a talk given by Heather Buchanan and Julie Norton at IATEFL 2016, which focused on research that the speakers have done to explore current opinions and beliefs about ELT coursebooks. Personally speaking, it was nice to see something about the significance of editors in the process – the people who spend many (often stressful) hours working on complex, challenging courses.

  3. The craft of weaving lesson threads, Steve Mullen – Steve discusses the process of lesson planning, describing it as more art than science, and focuses on the need for using creativity to craft an effective plan. He suggests that: “Ideally, the language focus (often grammar or vocabulary) should be intertwined with the theme (the application of the language) of the lesson.

  4. Pixabay – Finally for this week, I’m sharing this link to a huge online resource of stock images and videos, that you can “use anywhere“. These are creative commons photos, illustrations, graphics and videos which are completely open source and can be used in whatever way you like, wherever you like for commercial or non-commercial use. If you’re a budding photographer, you can upload your own images, and if you like the site you can make a donation to support its continued development.

 

That’s it from me, thanks for reading. Have a great weekend!

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

